GSA Government-wide Section 508 Accessibility Program

Revised 508 Standards Toolkit

These resources are intended to help your agency transition to the Revised 508 Standards. They are a work-in-process, and we welcome your feedback and suggestions for improvement.

Key Dates

  • July 18, 2017 - Incorporate the revised standards into agency acquisition regulations and procurement policies and directives
  • January 18, 2018 - Deadline for Federal agencies to conform to the new standards

Transition Resources

508 Program Management Resources




Need Help?

If you have questions about the new standards, contact the U.S. Access Board:

If you have questions about how to implement the new standards, or feedback about the resources in this toolkit, contact GSA's Government-wide Section 508 Program:


In January 2017, the U.S. Access Board issued the Information and Communication Technology (ICT) Standards and Guidelines, updating its existing Electronic and Information Technology Accessibility Standards under Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, (“508 Standards”), and the Telecommunications Act Accessibility Guidelines under Section 255 of the Communications Act of 1934 (“255 Guidelines”). The new standards and guidelines harmonize with worldwide standards such as the W3C’s Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0. GSA, the Federal CIO Council Accessibility Community of Practice (ACoP), and the Access Board are jointly leading the Section 508 Transition Support Initiative to help agencies transition from the Original 508 Standards to the Revised 508 Standards.