Skip to main content

Accessibility Bytes: Introduction

Ever wonder what Section 508 is and why it’s so important, and what you can do to ensure your work is “accessible?”

Accessibility Bytes is a new series from the team that brings you to share quick tips you can use to improve the accessibility of the information, communications, and technology you create for federal employees and members of the public.

  • Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 requires everyone to have equal access to the Information and Communication Technology (ICT) bought, built, used and maintained by federal agencies.

  • Up to 1 in 4 (27%) adults in the United States have some type of disability, many of which are hidden or not recognizable.

  • The Section 508 Standards federal employees must follow help ensure equal access to ICT including: computers, telecommunication equipment, copiers, printers, software, websites, electronic documents and more for people with physical, sensory, and cognitive disabilities.

  • In addition to Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, there are a number of related and reinforcing laws and policies you should know. In recent months, OMB issued the following for Heads of Executive Departments and Agencies reenforcing the importance of equal access to government information:

  • For more information and assistance in buying, building, creating, updating, testing, and remediating digital content to meet these standards, access the guidance on this website. 

Do you have questions about Section 508 at your agency? Reach out to your agency’s Section 508 Program Manager or contact us at

To subscribe to, manage, or unsubscribe from Accessibility Bytes, visit GSA Email Updates.

Reviewed/Updated: May 2024

An official website of the General Services Administration

Looking for U.S. government information and services?