Skip to secondary navigation Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Step 1: Inventory Your ICT

Determining how the Revised 508 Standards apply to Federal IT procurement and development will ensure that any technology your agency buys or builds will be accessible. The first step in this process is to conduct an inventory. The other steps involve determining which exceptions and standards apply.

First, review the business requirements of your project or acquisition to identify which major components contain information and communication technology (ICT). ICT items include such things as software, hardware, electronic content, support documentation & services. When conducting a procurement, review the Revised 508 Standards Applicability Checklist for each ICT item.

  • ICT items may be comprised of:
    • Commercial-off-the shelf (COTS)
    • Government-off-the shelf (GOTS)
    • Custom-developed products
    • Configuration, installation, integration, maintenance, and hosting services for COTS, GOTS, and custom-developed products
  • Each ICT item will fall under at least one of four categories:
    • Electronic Content
    • Software
    • Hardware
    • Support Documentation & Services
  • In some cases, an ICT item may fall under more than one category (e.g., products and services that have multiple ICT features and functions combined into one solution).

Use the Revised 508 Standards Applicability Checklist (MS-Word, April 2018) to document your accessibility requirements for ICT items.

We’ve provided some examples below of items that qualify as ICT. Either scroll down to see the entire list, or click on the link to jump directly to the type of ICT you want to read about.

Electronic Content - Examples

  • Websites and web-based content (Internet & Intranet)
  • Microsoft Office & PDF Documents
  • Training materials (e.g., online training materials, tests, online surveys)
  • Multimedia (video/audio)
  • Digital content (e.g., documents, templates, forms, reports, surveys)
  • Interactive maps
  • Electronic emergency notifications
  • Subscription services (e.g., news feeds, alert services, professional journals)

Software - Examples

Web, desktop, server, mobile client applications

  • Time and attendance software
  • Productivity applications
  • Web forms/applications
  • Call Center Support applications
  • Workflow applications
  • Content management systems
  • Learning management systems

Authoring tools

  • Microsoft Office
  • Adobe Acrobat Professional
  • Adobe InDesign
  • PDF Generators and Converters
  • Graphing and Charting Programs

Software infrastructure

  • Operating Systems
  • Browsers
  • Systems/network administration software
  • Collaboration environments
  • Remote access software
  • User Authentication Software
  • Virtual meeting tools (e.g., VOIP, screen shares, remote meetings)

Service offerings

  • Software as a Service (SaaS)
  • Platform as a Service (PaaS),
  • Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS)

Hardware - Examples

  • Computers & laptops
  • Servers
  • Tablets
  • Printers and copiers
  • Document scanners
  • Multi-function office machines
  • Peripheral equipment (e.g., keyboards, mice)
  • Information kiosks and transaction machines
  • Mobile phones

Support Documentation and Services - Examples

  • Training Services
  • Help Desk or call center
  • Automated self-service & technical support
  • Product documentation

Considerations for Complex Solicitations

Use the chart below to figure out which ICT items will need a checklist, for solicitations that include multiple ICT products, services, or components. Note, the Accessibility Requirements Tool (ART) will generate a list of accessibility requirements for each ICT item, and compile them into one requirements listing, broken out by ICT Item.

What’s Next?

See the other steps in this process:

  • Revised 508 Standards Applicability Checklist (MS-Word, April 2018) - Use this checklist to document your accessibility requirements for ICT items
  • Accessibility Requirements Tool - Automates the Revised 508 Standards Applicability Checklist; generates an accessibility reporting requirements template and customizable accessibility solicitation language.
  • Original Guidance Document - Developed by the U.S. Federal Government Revised 508 Standards Transition Workgroup; members include the U.S. Federal CIO Council Accessibility Community of Practice, the U.S. Access Board, and the General Services Administration.

Contact your agency’s Section 508 Coordinator or email us at with questions.

Updated/Reviewed: May 2022

An official website of the General Services Administration

Looking for U.S. government information and services?